Reviews & Editorials

Franchise Times Logo

Research led to Russo's, and Founder's Attention Sealed the Deal for Hawaiian

Author: Franchise Times

Posted: Tue, 4 Jun 2013 03:21 PM


Robert Carlisle is used to cooking for the masses, with a background in military food service for the U.S. Army's Airborne Rangers. "I was cooking for quantity not quality. I would cook for 3,000 people at a time. You'd go into muscle Failure," he recalls.

"Now I want to try the other side of things," he says, that is, turn out high quality dishes as the first Hawaiian Franchisee for Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen. Although the numbers won't match his Army days, he believes he'll find plenty of customers.

In Hawaii with his wife since 2007, in the beverage sales business, he's been scouting for opportunities. "It's kind of lopsided," he explains about the island's population. "You have Waikiki and Honolulu, where most of the population is. But on the west side of the island, I'm in an area where it's fast developing. This side of the island is going to be like Waikiki."

His lease is almost completed. He has applied for a $500,000 Patriot Express loan, which is backed by the Small Business Administration and is expedited for military veterans. He's personally injecting $100,000 in savings into the deal, and his landlord is putting in $125,000, in the form of tenant improvements on the location. He hopes to open by late summer or fall.

"Russo's website was the best," Carlisle says, and he emphasizes that researching all the possibilities is key, as is learning everything you can about the market. Incentives for veterans are nice, he says, but more important is personal attention by the Franchisor. Russo's offers a $10,000 discount on the Franchise Fee, which is $49,000 for a Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen.

Personal phone calls and visits from President Anthony Russo sealed the deal. "Absolutely. that's one of the reasons why I kept moving forward. I had other Franchises in mind. and it would take a couple of weeks for them to get back to me." Carlisle says.

"Definitely look at the benefits and discounts and compare them with other franchises. I never had my own business, and from day one he walked me through every step," Carlisle says, referring to Russo. "He didn't do my business plan for me, but if I asked him how much will this cost, he'd tell me exactly."

"I also hired a consultant," Carlisle says. I wanted to get a second opinion. I think it's worth the money to pay for an adviser." He recommends the SBA's website as a good resource, as well as BoeFly, the matchmaking service between borrowers and lenders. BoeFly walked him through his application, and afterward the banker that had originally rejected his application made the loan.

"I walked away from a job where I was getting close to six digits a year. So it's a big risk," he says. But he believes he's ready for the battle. "Ever since I left the military I still feel like I'm in the military. I just feel like I'm going to another duty assignment. I don't let the dark side of business get me down. I just keep pushing through."




Pizza News

Don Bingham - Mike Kemp photos Logo

Russo's - Molto bene!

Don Bingham - Mike Kemp photos

July 21, 2014

NADINE KAM / NKAM@STARADVERTISER.COM Logo

Latest Italian eatery has value in Ewa Beach

NADINE KAM / NKAM@STARADVERTISER.COM

July 9, 2014

Middleastexpat Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria - Middleastexpat

Middleastexpat

March 30, 2014

Dubai Media Inc Logo

Anthony in the Studio One TV show - Dubai Meia

Dubai Media Inc

February 20, 2014

http://www.myfoxdfw.com Logo

Deal or Dud - Air Fryer

http://www.myfoxdfw.com

February 19, 2014

FSR Magazine Logo

Making Brunch Profitable

FSR Magazine

February 10, 2014

Stephanie Silverstein, Reporter- Pacific Business News Logo

Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen Opening for Dinner Monday

Stephanie Silverstein, Reporter- Pacific Business News

January 27, 2014

Tulsa World Logo

Review : Russo's at Tuscany on Yale in Tulsa

Tulsa World

October 3, 2013

Abu Dhabi Week Logo

Slice of the Big Apple

Abu Dhabi Week

September 9, 2013

Chynna Foucek Logo

Restaurant Review: Russo's New York Pizzeria

Chynna Foucek

July 23, 2013

Houston Business Journal Logo

Face to Face with Anthony Russo of Russo's New York Pizzeria

Houston Business Journal

June 4, 2013

QSR Magazine Logo

One to Watch: Russo's New York Pizzeria

QSR Magazine

May 9, 2013

Gillian Duncan - The National UAE Logo

Texas-sized slice of New York for UAE

Gillian Duncan - The National UAE

April 5, 2013

Houston Chronicle Logo

So what's your favorite Houston pizza?

Houston Chronicle

March 21, 2013

PMQ Magazine Logo

Product Spotlight : Gluten-Free Sweets

PMQ Magazine

December 5, 2012

KHOU Great Day Houston Logo

Chef Anthony Russo Demonstrates How to Make Pumpkin Pizza

KHOU Great Day Houston

November 16, 2012

QSR Magazine Logo

Flex Casual: The Best of Both Worlds

QSR Magazine

November 16, 2012

Crain's New York Business Logo

Fro-yo, burger joints turn out for franchise expo

Crain's New York Business

November 16, 2012

Arkansas Business Logo

Group Opens Russo's : Little Rock or Jacksonville?

Arkansas Business

November 16, 2012

TradeArabia News Service Logo

Top US pizza brand debuts in UAE

TradeArabia News Service

August 31, 2012

Andy Scott - CPI Financial Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria wants a pizza of the UAE action

Andy Scott - CPI Financial

August 31, 2012

Restaurant News Logo

Russo’s Brand Celebrates 20 Years of Success

Restaurant News

August 26, 2012

Angie's Big Love of Food Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria - Memphis, TN

Angie's Big Love of Food

May 17, 2012

Celiac Sprue Association Logo

Russo’s New York Pizzeria earnes CSA Recognition Seal

Celiac Sprue Association

April 2, 2012

Grocery Headquarters Logo

Russo’s New York Pizzeria Bites Into Gluten-Free Pizza Line

Grocery Headquarters

February 13, 2012

Franchising.com Logo

Russo’s Has Appetite for Expansion

Franchising.com

January 13, 2012

Nation's Restaurant News Logo

Flex-casual format gains popularity

Nation's Restaurant News

January 12, 2012

QSR Magazine Logo

Treat Customers Like Your Boss' Family

QSR Magazine

January 8, 2012

Pizza Today Logo

5 Questions with Chef Anthony Russo

Pizza Today

January 6, 2012

Houston Chronicle Logo

Brick ovens heat up franchise sales for restaurant

Houston Chronicle

January 2, 2012

Houston Press Logo

Can One Person Eat a 28-Inch Pizza In an Hour?

Houston Press

October 25, 2011

Ron Ruggless Logo

Q&A: Chef Anthony Russo

Ron Ruggless

August 20, 2011

ArkansasBusiness.com Logo

Russo's Italian Kitchen Coming to Conway

ArkansasBusiness.com

August 8, 2011

Pizza Marketplace Logo

Bringing New York slices to Texas and beyond

Pizza Marketplace

July 25, 2011

Dallas Business Journal Logo

Russo's looks for Dallas expansion

Dallas Business Journal

July 20, 2011

ArabianBusiness.com Logo

US pizza firm eyes major Gulf region expansion

ArabianBusiness.com

June 7, 2011

Multi-Unit Franchisee Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizza Debuts in Dubai

Multi-Unit Franchisee Magazine

June 7, 2011

Franchisee Satisfation Awards Logo

2011 Top Franchise - Russo's New York Pizzeria

Franchisee Satisfation Awards

April 13, 2011

Entrepreneur Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria rated Top 2011 Franchise

Entrepreneur Magazine

April 7, 2011

Franchisee Satisfation Awards Logo

Franchisee Satisfation Awards - 2011 Honoree

Franchisee Satisfation Awards

March 23, 2011

TradeArabia News Service Logo

New York pizza firm for Gulfood Dubai

TradeArabia News Service

January 29, 2011

Jay Gambino Esparza Logo

I was in Texas eating a real NY pizza!

Jay Gambino Esparza

December 14, 2010

Marketing Successories Logo

Russo’s New York Ready to Cover the World

Marketing Successories

April 12, 2010

Houston Chronicle Logo

Houston pizza goes to Las Vegas — and China

Houston Chronicle

April 8, 2010

Chain Leader Logo

Russo's New York Pizza Honored by Rachel Ray

Chain Leader

March 10, 2010

QSR Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria Owner To Visit U.A.E.

QSR Magazine

February 10, 2010

Click2Houston Logo

2009 Nominee... Best Pizza in Houston Contest

Click2Houston

January 25, 2010

QSR Magazine Online Logo

Italian Concept Wants Healthy Hearts

QSR Magazine Online

January 20, 2010

Entrepreneur Magazine Logo

Entrepreneur Magazine Recognizes Russo's New York Pizzeria

Entrepreneur Magazine

January 8, 2010

Houston Community Newspapers Logo

Sienna couple open new Missouri City pizzeria

Houston Community Newspapers

November 3, 2009

Zagat Survey Logo

Dear Anthony,

Zagat Survey

October 27, 2009

Herald-Voice Logo

New York Pizzeria

Herald-Voice

October 27, 2009

Citysearch Logo

Best of Citysearch: Houston Restaurants

Citysearch

October 27, 2009

AOL CityGuide Logo

AOL Best Pizza 2007: New York Pizzeria

AOL CityGuide

October 27, 2009

U.S. Local Business Association Logo

2008 Houston Award - Best Pizza

U.S. Local Business Association

October 27, 2009

Cook's Tour: Alison Cook Logo

My Russo's Coal-Fired Pizza pix : Pure Torment

Cook's Tour: Alison Cook

August 19, 2008

Pizza Today Logo

Top 100 Pizza Companies 2008

Pizza Today

July 8, 2008